Partners chosen for the Kemi bioproduct mill project

We are announcing the information on partners chosen for the Kemi bioproduct mill project on this page.

So far, Metsä Fibre has chosen four main implementation partners for the Kemi bioproduct mill project. Preliminary agreements conditional on an investment decision have been signed with Valmet on the main equipment and automation of the mill and with ABB on the electrical systems. The preliminary agreement with AFRY includes project management and implementation planning services, and the preliminary agreement with Fimpec covers the construction of the mill.

The contact persons for the main implementation partners are:

Valmet: Risto Hokajärvi, Project Director, risto.hokajarvi@valmet.com

ABB: Mikael Ingo, Business Line Manager, Process Industries, mikael.ingo@fi.abb.com

AFRY: Johan Ehrnrooth, Head of Pulp and Paper, johan.ehrnrooth@afry.com

Fimpec: Pekka Salomaa, Chairman of the Board, pekka.salomaa@fimpec.fi

In addition, we have entered into preliminary agreements with the following actors in the following areas:

Econia, consulting services related to contractor liability matters and the prevention of the grey economy,
Contact person: Arttu Eräpalo, Sales Director, arttu.erapalo@econia.com

ANDRITZ, wood raw material reception and feed equipment, including installation and commissioning,
Janne Lähteenmäki, Product Group Manager, Wood Processing, janne.lahteenmaki@andritz.com

ERCO, process technology and main equipment for the chlorine dioxide plant, and
AFRY, EPCM execution model: project management and the engineering of the chlorine dioxide plant,
Johan Ehrnrooth, Head of Pulp and Paper, johan.ehrnrooth@afry.com

Ramirent, site office modules and an on-site fleet rental facility,
Arto Palsio, Marketing Director, arto.palsio@ramirent.fi

Lujabetoni, reinforced concrete piles,
Juha Kinnunen, VP, concrete products, juha.kinnunen@luja.fi

Neles, valve solutions, Head of Valve Equipment Business, Timo Hänninen, timo.hanninen@neles.com 

HV-Maarakennus, civil engineering, CEO Harri Posti, harri.posti@hvm.fi

Tarrakopla, guideposts and signs, CEO Ari Hilke, ari.hilke@tarrakopla.fi

MKTG, Marketing communication and experiental, Head of Sales Anni Silamo anni.silamo@mktg.com

Flatlight Creative House, Video production provider, Executive Producer Maria Gullsten, maria@flatlight.fi

Avalon, construction site mobile application, Chairman & Partner Jari Laakso, jari.laakso@avalon.fi 

Forenom, accomodation services, Director, Key Accounts Iiro Eskelinen, iiro.eskelinen@forenom.com

Kreate, civil engineering (construction of earthmoving, piling platforms and stormwater network in the mill area, water filling, construction of a new access road and drum bridges, and implementation of groundwater abatement in the area), Manager Juha Schönberg, juha.schonberg@kreate.fi

Lehto Group, construction of a port warehouse for the bioproduct mill to Ajos harbour in Kemi, EVP of Business Premises Jaakko Heikkilä, jaakko.heikkila@lehto.fi

If you are interested in cooperating on the Kemi bioproduct mill project, please submit your information through this form: www.metsafibre.com/partnerkemi. Companies as well as, for instance, private individuals offering apartments for rent, can submit their information using this form. We will review all the information we receive and document it. If any possibilities for cooperation arise, we will contact you. We will also forward the information we receive to our chosen partners.

The project engineering for Metsä Fibre’s bioproduct mill project in Kemi started in early August 2020. This means the detailed planning of the mill’s technology, construction, installations and commissioning, as well as preparation for the construction phase. The project engineering will be carried out together with the four main implementation partners already chosen. From the beginning of August, more than 400 people are working in the implementation planning organisation.

If you have any other questions concerning the bioproduct mill project, please contact us at bioproductmill@metsagroup.com.


This page was updated on 10 February 2021